Text size A  A  A
Report: Gov. Justice appoints Mark Sorsaia as Secretary of Dept. of Homeland Security

Farmers in Wayne, Hancock and Pendleton Counties May Qualify for Disaster Assistance

​CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management today reminded farmers they may qualify for disaster assistance. According to the “Emergency Agricultural Credit Act of 1984,” farmers in Wayne, Hancock and Pendleton Counties may be eligible for Farm Service Agency Emergency Loans, due to federal disaster declarations in Virginia, Kentucky and Ohio.

The Emergency Agricultural Credit Act states that disaster assistance will be made available to farmers who have suffered qualifying losses in any county that borders a designated disaster county. While, in comparison to other states, West Virginia has largely escaped the devastating effects of this spring’s severe thunderstorms, tornados, flooding and high winds, our neighboring states of Ohio, Kentucky and Virginia have not been so fortunate.

In Virginia, eight counties suffered severe loss after an April 16 tornado and storm (adjacent to Pendleton County, W.Va.); in Kentucky, 14 counties were designated disaster areas due to storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred on April 22 (adjacent to Wayne County, W.Va.); and in Ohio, four counties qualify for assistance because of rain, snow, flooding, winds, hail, lightning and freeze that took place from Feb. 27 to March 1 (adjacent to Hancock County, W.Va.).

The emergency loans are limited to severe physical losses only and the outstanding principal balance of all emergency loans to a farmer cannot exceed $500,000 at any one time.

The Farm Service Agency, within the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is taking the necessary action to notify farmers in these areas of assistance opportunities. For more information, please visit www.fsa.usda.gov.

Contact: Heather Miles, 304-558-5380