Text size A  A  A
Report: Gov. Justice appoints Mark Sorsaia as Secretary of Dept. of Homeland Security

First Responders Honor Board


​The Medal of Valor was created in ​2020 for emergency medical service personnel, firefighters, and law enforcement personnel who "distinguish themselves conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of their lives above and beyond the call of duty in the performance of their duties."

​The program established an advisory First Responders Honor Board within the Department of Homeland Security, through legislation passed in October 2021. The board recommends firefighters, law enforcement officers, and emergency services personnel to the Legislature for this honor.

​The board consists of two members from each of the state's senatorial districts. Each state senator appoints one member to represent his or her district. Members are firefighters, fire chiefs; law enforcement officials including sheriffs, correctional officers, and police chiefs; emergency medical services personnel; medical officials; doctors; and other professionals who are qualified to evaluate and determine whether the actions of firefighters, law-enforcement officers, and emergency medical services personnel rise to the level of being above and beyond the call of duty. Members serve three-year terms and receive no compensation.

First Responder Honor Board members

John H. Casto​

Thomas Diserio

Nathan Harmon

​Bryan​ Justice​

​Lloyd "Butch" Mansfield​

Amos Gordon Merry III​​

Virgil Miller

Michael Mood​

Michael Pifer​

Charles "Butch" Renner II

Bruce Sloan

Mike Thomas​

Lloyd White​